Aeon Emulator Blog

December 22, 2009

What’s next

Filed under: Aeon — Greg Divis @ 10:46 pm

I wanted to get a new version posted before the end of the year, but it’s looking like that isn’t going to happen. I’ve made significant progress with the x87 floating-point unit, and been able to get Duke Nukem 3D and a few other games at least somewhat working, but I’ve also broken compatibility with a few games that used to work. I figured it would be better just to keep working on it until I’m fairly sure I’ve got any new bugs I’ve introduced fixed.

Anyway, since it seems some people are actually attempting to use Aeon now, here’s a kind of road map for what I’d like to have ready at each “major” version, so you know what to expect:

  • 0.6
    • Protected mode complete enough to run most DOS games that don’t require SVGA
    • Functionally complete, but not necessarily exact, FPU emulation
  • 0.7
    • CD-ROM/MSCDEX emulation
    • Improve emulated DOS command prompt (more commands, multiple drives)
    • Simple batch file support
    • SVGA*
  • 0.8
    • SVGA*
    • Program usability, UI improvements
    • Performance improvements
  • 0.9
    • Improve performance
    • Improve compatibility
  • 1.0 – Stable

*SVGA is listed in two versions because I’m not sure exactly how much of this I’ll be doing. Unlike VGA, it was a while before there was any kind of an SVGA standard like VESA, so I need to do some more research and decide how best to approach this.

This is not an exhaustive list. For example, I haven’t listed additional features that will be needed to properly support some of these, like a user-interface for manual drive mounting to support removable media like CD’s. I’ve deliberately tried to get all of the actual hardware/software emulation that I want to have feature complete (but probably not bug-free) by 0.8, so I can work on improving the application UI and performance up until I’m ready to call it stable.

Everything up to 0.9 should be considered an unstable, experimental alpha. 0.9 will hopefully be beta quality, and 1.0 will be stable.

1 Comment »

  1. Nice plan. I would also add flawless browsing in Norton Commander 4/5 as a goal for 0.9 or 1.0.

    Comment by motke — December 24, 2009 @ 9:04 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

